IPL 2017
A momentum difficult to break
By B Dixit - Apr 28, 2017 2:26 pm
Views 0

It seems as if Kolkata Knight Riders is on an invincible spree. The winning momentum on which they are riding seems far away from a halt. After their captain, Gautam Gambhir, won the toss and put Delhi Daredevils in to bat today, an exciting contest was on the cards for a chasing team was chasing and a defending team had to defend.

But the chase got the better of defend. And quite easily. In what was a comprehensive win for Knight Riders, they, at no position in the match looked in any sort of trouble. After restricting the Daredevils at 160-6 in 20 overs, the home team lost Sunil Narine (4) in the second over.

It what was a blessing in disguise for them because the next batsman was the in-form Robin Uthappa. The 31-year old right-hand batsman continued from where he left in the last match. Knight Riders scored 47-1 in the powerplay.

Daredevils failed to score boundaries post the powerplay overs. But this was not the case with the home team. Uthappa and Gambhir played more freely, even as the field was opened up. Amit Mishra bowled the seventh over and conceded 14 runs. Chris Morris’ next over saw 19 runs coming of it. Pat Cummins’ bowled the following over and went for 13 runs. Knight Riders scored 101-1 by the halfway mark.

With 60 runs required in 60 balls, more than half the battle was won by the Knight Riders. Uthappa had scored another half-century. Even after Uthappa (59) was run out in the 13th over and Manish Pandey (5) in the 15th, but the dismissals did not affect Knight Riders’ prospects. Knight Riders eventually won the match in the 17th over with Gambhir (67*) and Sheldon Jackson (12*) remaining unbeaten.

With 35 half-centuries, Gambhir now has the maximum number of half-centuries in IPL. He has scored 3,311 runs in 115 IPL innings as captain in the IPL, surpassing Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s 3,270 runs in 128 innings. He has also become the fourth Indian batsman after Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma to score 6,000 T20 runs.