IPL 2024
Mumbai Indians’ Fielding Woes: Overthrow Costs Big Against Jake Fraser-McGurk’s Assault
By CricShots - Apr 27, 2024 5:40 pm
Views 17

Experience often proves invaluable in challenging situations, and the Mumbai Indians sought to rely on it when faced with Jake Fraser-McGurk’s onslaught. However, despite Rohit Sharma’s impassioned speech during a timeout, Mumbai’s fielding lapses only compounded their woes.

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Opting to bowl first, Mumbai Indians faced a fierce onslaught from Delhi Capitals’ openers, led by Jake Fraser-McGurk. The Australian dynamo blazed his way to 55 runs in just three overs, setting the tone for a formidable innings. His aggressive approach culminated in a blistering 15-ball fifty, propelling Delhi to an imposing 92-run powerplay total.

In an attempt to regroup, Mumbai called for an early strategic timeout after the sixth over, during which Rohit Sharma rallied his teammates with words of encouragement. However, their efforts were marred by a misfield that resulted in extra runs for Delhi.

WATCH – Jake Fraser-McGurk Smashes Jasprit Bumrah In IPL 2024 Encounter

Despite conceding 20 runs in his previous over, Hardik Pandya persisted with his bowling, only to witness another misfield that led to overthrows. The miscommunication between the fielders resulted in an overthrow boundary, exacerbating Mumbai’s struggles on the field.


In a further setback for Mumbai, key pacer Gerald Coetzee was ruled out of the playing XI due to a minor stomach ailment. In his absence, Mumbai introduced English bowler Luke Wood, who made his second appearance in the IPL 2024 season.

Hardik Pandya confirmed Coetzee’s absence during the toss, attributing it to a stomach bug. With Luke Wood stepping in as a replacement, Mumbai’s lineup underwent a crucial change, adding intrigue to the highly anticipated showdown between two powerhouse teams.

WATCH – Harsha Bhogle Reveals T20 World Cup Squad: Omits Rinku Singh

KuttyDelhi Capitals (Playing XI): Jake Fraser-McGurk, Kumar Kushagra, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Tristan Stubbs, Abishek Porel, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Lizaad Williams, Mukesh Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Tilak Varma, Nehal Wadhera, Hardik Pandya (c), Tim David, Mohammad Nabi, Piyush Chawla, Luke Wood, Jasprit Bumrah, Nuwan ThusharaBenchSuryakumar