Mumbai selected Prithvi Shaw for the Vijay Hazare Trophy knockout stages
By Sandy - Feb 17, 2018 4:27 pm
Views 23

2018 ICC U-19 World Cup winning Indian captain Prithvi Shaw is now selected in the 16-member Mumbai squad for the knockout stages of the ongoing Vijay Hazare trophy (domestic List A tournament). In the round-robin stages of the ongoing Vijay Hazare trophy, Prithvi impressed the selectors with his performances as he scored total 145 runs in that round.

Prithvi Shaw

In the recently concluded a successful 2018 U-19 Cricket World Cup, the Indian opening batsman and skipper Prithvi Shaw provided powerful performances. He was the second most runs scorer for his team. The right-handed batsman scored 261 runs in that tournament with the average of 65.25. He hit two half-centuries in that tournament while his best knock was 97 against Australia U19 in the Group Stage game. Apart from his batting, Prithvi also impressed through his strong captaincy abilities on the field.

Also read: Prithvi Shaw Credits Rahul Dravid For The Historic Win

Through the U-19 WC performances, the 18-year old right-handed batsman created a chance for himself in the ongoing domestic List A tournament. Prithvi has played four games in this tournament where he has scored total 145 runs with the average of 36.25. In this tournament, Prithvi has scored two half-centuries and these are against Rajasthan (52) and Goa (53) respectively.

Recently, Prithvi said that he is focusing on getting chances in the senior team. He also spoke out on his comparison with the big players where he stated that he will be grounded in his long journey. He said, “I think so. I have to keep scoring runs. I have to grab those opportunities to be there in the senior team. Expectations will be there. Obviously, people will compare with Sachin sir or somebody else. But I know my game and I better be grounded. I have not even started and it’s a long journey,”

Also read: Shubman Gill Celebrates His Stardom With His Family

Coming back to the present selection, wicket-keeper Aditya Tare remained as captain for the remainder of the tournament. Shreyas Iyer, who played in the recently ended six-match bilateral ODI series on the South African soil, has been also selected for the upcoming knock-out stages.

On 21st February, Group C runners-up Mumbai will take on Group B champions Maharashtra in the quarter-finals of this tournament.

16-member Mumbai Squad (for the Vijay Hazare Trophy knockout stages): Aditya Tare (Captain), Dhawal Kulkarni (Vice Captain), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Akhil Herwadkar, Jay Bista, Shivam Dube, Eknath Kerkar, Aakash Parkar, Dhrumil Matkar, Royston Dias, Shams Mulani, Shubham Ranjane, Shivam Malhotra and Prithvi Shaw.