Navdeep Saini, Abhimanyu Easwaran added to India Test squad
By SMCS - Dec 11, 2022 8:55 pm
Views 64

Navdeep Saini, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Jaydev Unadkat and Saurabh Kumar have been included in the Indian Test squad for the Bangladesh series, the BCCI confirmed on Sunday (December 11). Meanwhile, apart from Unadkat and Saurabh, the BCCI has also confirmed Navdeep Saini’s recall to the Indian Test side. The veteran fast bowler hasn’t played for India in over a year and his last Test appearance came in Australia last year as well.

Meanwhile, regular skipper Rohit Sharma, who was doubtful for the Test series after getting injured during the second ODI, met a specialist in Mumbai and he has been advised to rest as well. He will therefore not be available for the opening Test match, and Abhimanyu Easwaran has been drafted in and the uncapped opener scored centuries in both games against Bangladesh A recently as well.

ALSO READ: Fans react as the first Test between INDvNZ ended in a draw

Meanwhile, the BCCI medical team will later decide on Rohit’s participation in the second Test. While KL Rahul will lead the side in Rohit’s absence, Cheteshwar Pujara will be the vice-captain. The last time India played a Test match (in England earlier this year), Rishabh Pant was added as vice-captain even though Pujara was present in the squad as well.

navdeep saini
Navdeep Saini to make his Test debut in Sydney

READ HERE: Wasim Jaffer names batting-order for 2nd Test vs New Zealand

India’s updated squad: KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat