IPL 2023
Naveen Ul Haq Churns Out Crowd Shutting Celebration After Dismissing Rohit Sharma
By CricShots - May 24, 2023 9:13 pm
Views 20

The Eliminator match of the Indian Premier League 2023 between Mumbai Indians and Lucknow Super Giants witnessed an early breakthrough by pacer Naveen-ul-Haq, giving Lucknow the upper hand. Mumbai Indians, after choosing to bat first, faced a slow start and suffered early dismissals of their key players, Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan.

Naveen ul Haq
Naveen ul Haq dismissed Rohit Sharma

However, Suryakumar Yadav and Cameron Green stepped up to the challenge, keeping the scoreboard moving as Mumbai progressed through the powerplay. Mumbai made a strategic change in their playing XI, introducing Hrithik Shokeen in place of Kumar Kartikeya, aiming to inject fresh energy and turn the tide in their favor.

ALSO READ: Indian Team To Engage in Intra-Squad Match Ahead of WTC Final

In contrast, Lucknow decided to rest Quinton de Kock for the match and fielded three overseas players, displaying their confidence in their international talents.

As the match unfolded, the momentum swung back and forth. Mumbai Indians, known for their resilience and ability to chase challenging targets, were determined to overcome their slow start and post a competitive total. Meanwhile, Lucknow Super Giants sought to capitalize on their opponent’s early setbacks and maintain their dominance throughout the game.

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma Reflects on Challenging Period After Missing 2011 WC Squad

In the fourth over, Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma attempted to hit Naveen-ul-Haq over the covers but failed to get the required elevation, resulting in a catch by a fielder inside the circle. Naveen-ul-Haq celebrated the dismissal with a “Shut-out-the-noise” gesture, reminiscent of KL Rahul’s signature celebration.

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Prerak Mankad, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Krunal Pandya (c), Krishnappa Gowtham, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur, Mohsin Khan

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Tilak Varma, Chris Jordan, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal