IPL 2021
Negative RT-PCR Test Becomes Mandatory For BCCI Officials To Watch Matches At Wankhede Stadium
By SMCS - Apr 10, 2021 8:39 pm
Views 29

The IPL 2021 has started on Friday with a clash between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Virat Kohli led Royal Challengers Bangalore which finished at the last ball thriller with the Challengers clinching the victory by 2 wickets. However, it is unfortunate that the people could not enjoy the live action from the stadium, although the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) officials are allowed to attend the match.


And, the BCCI President, Sourav Ganguly alongside other officials of the BCCI, state boards, and other associates were seen sitting in the stands during the game. However, now, amid the surge of COVID-19 cases in Maharashtra, the BCCI has made it mandatory for every match official to have a negative RT-PCR test for attending the IPL 2021 matches at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, which should not be more than 48 hours older as well.

Following the BCCI’s order, the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) has also informed the Apex Council members about the matter. This came after 10 ground staff at the Wankhede tested positive for the deadly virus, but thankfully, as per the report, they have recovered and produced negative test reports as well.

READ HERE: Fans React After Watching The Latest Ad of Rahul Dravid

“Dear Apex Council members, as per the BCCI’s protocol, all the officials who would be attending IPL- 2021 matches at the Wankhede Stadium are required to produce a negative report of the RT-PCR test conducted within 48 hours of match-day,” MCA secretary Sanjay Naik wrote in the letter to Apex Council members.

“The tests are mandatory even for those who’ve been vaccinated. The report will have to be produced at the time of entry on each match day. Hence you are requested to get yourself tested at your end and carry the negative report to the stadium on match day,” Naik further added.

Wankhede will host the first game of IPL 2021 between three-time champions Chennai Super Kings and the runners-up of IPL 2020, Delhi Capitals. Apart from this, this venue will host 9 more matches in the 14th edition of the IPL from April 10th to 25th.