Twitter Reaction
Netizens Erupt As Shubman Gill Faces Shocking Snub: Terms Rohit Sharma Shameless
By CricShots - Jan 14, 2024 8:35 pm
Views 62

In the ongoing three-match T20I series between India and Afghanistan in Indore, the Indian team has made a significant change for the second encounter. Shubman Gill, who scored 23 runs in the first T20I, has been dropped, making way for Yashasvi Jaiswal’s comeback. The first match in Mohali saw India clinching victory by six wickets, with Shivam Dube playing a pivotal role, crafting an unbeaten knock of 60 runs.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill engaged in a huge mixup

Gill’s dismissal in the opening match was marked by a mix-up with captain Rohit Sharma, resulting in Sharma’s unfortunate run-out for a duck. Despite hitting five fours, Gill’s miscommunication with Sharma led to a fiery moment on the pitch, with the Indian captain expressing displeasure at the turn of events.

WATCH – Matthew Short’s Explosive Onslaught: Massive Six and Unbeaten 74 Propel Adelaide Strikers

The second T20I not only witnesses the exclusion of Gill but also marks the return of Virat Kohli to the shortest format after 14 months. Kohli’s last appearance in T20Is for India was during the T20 World Cup 2022 semi-final against England.

With the T20 World Cup 2024 looming, the second IND vs AFG T20I is crucial for India to secure a series win and finalize their squad for the upcoming tournament. This match serves as the penultimate opportunity for the Indian team to decide their final 15, with some players likely to be tested further in the upcoming Indian Premier League.

ALSO READ: Yuvraj Singh says R Ashwin doesn’t deserves a place in ODIs and T20s

Netizens have expressed mixed reactions to Shubman Gill’s omission in the second IND vs AFG T20I, adding an extra layer of anticipation to the high-stakes encounter. 













India: Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shivam Dube, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran (c), Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman