IPL 2023
Netizens Not Happy With Andre Russell Celebrating Tripathi’s Wicket
By CricShots - May 4, 2023 11:53 pm
Views 36

Aggressive celebrations give an adrenaline rush to many, and things begin to unfold all of a sudden right after those moments. On Thursday, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) all-rounder, Andre Russell was delighted to outfox Rahul Tripathi with a slower delivery immediately after he conceded 15 runs off just a couple of deliveries. 

Andre Russell
Andre Russell dismissed Rahul Tripathi

Coming to bat at No. 6, Andre Russell played a fiery knock of 24 off 15 balls against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Match 47 of IPL 2023 at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. The 35-year-old, however, would have asked to stay a bit longer at the crease, which could have helped KKR to reach a decent total of 171/9.

WATCH – Mayank Markande Impresses Commentators With His Dismissal Of Andre Russell

To make things worse, when Nitish Rana asked him to bowl him in the 6th over of the second innings, he started the spell by overstepping, which Rahul Tripathi smashed for four runs. Then he conceded 6 and 4 in the next couple of deliveries, leading his bowling figures look dreadful. However, he came back in style, bowling a fullish-length delivery clocked at 116 kph. Tripathi tried to scoop it after shuffling across the stumps, but he did not read the pace, resulting him in holing out to Vaibhav Arora at deep fine leg.

Russell was pumped up to see his ploy work and roared while throwing his arms in the air to celebrate Tripathi’s wicket and gave him an epic send-off.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Mayank Agarwal, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram (c), Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Harry Brook, Abdul Samad, Marco Jansen, Mayank Markande, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kartik Tyagi, T Natarajan

WATCH – Aiden Markram Takes A Exceptional Catch To Dismiss Nitish Rana

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Jason Roy, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana (c), Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Twitter too joined hands, and they were all smiles to see the big man go wild.