NZ vs IND 2020: Shaw Named in ODI squad, Samson Replaces Injured Dhawan in T20I Squad
By Shruti - Jan 21, 2020 10:36 pm
Views 1.7K
Share Post

India opener Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out of the upcoming T20I and ODI series against New Zealand due to his shoulder injury. Dhawan suffered the injury while fielding and hurt his left shoulder when he was trying to stop a ball during the third ODI against Australia in Bengaluru on Sunday.

Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan injured his shoulder

Wicket-keeper batsman Sanju Samson will replace the injured Dhawan in the five-match T20I series while Prithvi Shaw will take his place in the three-match ODI series against the same opponent, a BCCI statement on Tuesday evening confirmed. The first T20I will take place on Friday in Auckland.

Sanju Samson, who was dropped from the ODI series against Australia after playing one game against Sri Lanka in the final T20I, is currently in New Zealand with the India A team, along with Prithvi Shaw.

Read here: Kevin Roberts Shares His Thought on Four-day Tests

The shoulder injury is the new addition for Dhawan, who recently missed the West Indies series with a knee injury. Before that, he was ruled out of the World Cup midway after getting injured in his finger while batting against Australia. Moreover, he had recently hit on the rib by Pat Cummins in the second ODI in Rajkot recently that forced him to stay off the field in the second innings as well.

“An MRI of his shoulder was conducted, and the results have confirmed a grade II injury of his acromio-clavicular joint. His hand will be in a sling and he has been advised rest for some time. He will start his active rehab management in the first week of February at the National Cricket Academy,” BCCI said in a press release.

Sanju Samson

All-rounder Hardik Pandya is also not added in the white-ball squads as he continues recovery and rehab in Bangalore in the NCA under the guidance of Rahul Dravid. However, the Test squad is yet to announce

India’s T20I squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Sanju Samson, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur

India’s ODI squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Kedar Jadhav