NZ vs Ind (Third ODI): Indian Bowlers Restrict New Zealand To 243 Runs
By Sandy - Jan 28, 2019 11:52 am
Views 76

Indian bowlers once again dominated over the Kiwi batsman as the hosts’ side New Zealand were bundled out for 243 runs (49 overs) in the first innings of the third ODI of the five-match ODI series at Bay Oval (Mount Maunganui).

New Zealand vs India

Leading the series by 2-0, India made two changes in the playing XI while the hosts New Zealand had the solitary change from the previous ODI. While Mitchell Santner replaced Colin de Grandhomme in New Zealand playing XI, Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya have been added in the Indian squad as the replacement of MS Dhoni and Vijay Shankar respectively.

Also read: Twitterati Erupts As Hardik Come In For 3rd ODI And Dhoni Goes Out

After winning the toss in this very important ODI, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson decided to bat first. Once again, the openers failed to provide the good starts as the openers Martin Guptill (13) and Colin Munro (7) both were dismissed very cheaply.

Also watch: Kiwi Batsmen Ran Four Runs And Hardik Gets A Wicket

Struggling on 26/2 at the very early period, the Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson and the experienced batsman Ross Taylor tried to control that innings. Williamson and Taylor had the 33-run partnership for the third wicket before Williamson lost his wicket after the comeback man Hardik Pandya grabbed a stunning catch at mid-wicket.

Also read: Virat Kohli Feels Amazing After Roger Federer Remembered Their Earlier Meeting

After that, Taylor had a 119-run partnership for the fourth wicket along with the wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham. While Taylor completed his half-century in 71 balls, Latham completed his half-century in 62 balls. Just after completing his half-century, Latham was dismissed on 51 off 64 balls (1 four and 1 six) and since then New Zealand lost their wickets in regular intervals. Taylor unluckily missed his ODI century as he was dismissed on 93 runs off 106 balls (9 fours). While once New Zealand were batting on 178/3, they were bundled out for just 243 runs in 49 overs.

Also watch – Guptill Plays Helicopter Shot, Bhuvneshwar Takes The Revenge

Among the Indian bowlers, the Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2/46), all-rounder Hardik Pandya (2/45) and the leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal (2/51) picked up two wickets each while another pacer Mohammed Shami (3/41) got three wickets.

Here are some twitter reactions: