On This Day
On This Day: India Clinches ICC Champions Trophy as Netizens Reflect on Decade-Long Drought
By CricShots - Jun 23, 2023 3:23 pm
Views 587

In a rain-affected final on June 23, 2013, India emerged victorious in the ICC Champions Trophy by defeating England at Edgbaston in Birmingha. The match was reduced to 20 overs per side due to the weather conditions, and England chose to bowl after winning the toss, restricting India to 129/7.

Team India won the Champions Trophy 10 years ago

Virat Kohli top-scored for India with 43 off 34 balls, while Ravindra Jadeja played a crucial unbeaten knock of 33 off 25 deliveries. Opener Shikhar Dhawan contributed 31 off 24 balls. Ravi Bopara was the standout bowler for England, picking up three wickets for 20 runs, while James Anderson, Stuart Broad, and James Tredwell took one wicket each.

ALSO READ: Ravichandran Ashwin Invokes ‘MS Dhoni’ Message After WTC Final Snub

India’s bowlers displayed excellent skills in defending the total as they limited England to 124/8. Umesh Yadav struck early by dismissing Alastair Cook for 2 runs, and Jadeja (2/24), Ravichandran Ashwin (2/15), and Ishant Sharma (2/36) all made significant contributions with the ball. England required 15 runs off the final over, but Ashwin conceded only nine, securing a thrilling five-run victory.

With this triumph, MS Dhoni became the first captain to win all three ICC white-ball trophies. However, India has since struggled to clinch another ICC title.

Champions Trophy
Virat Kohli had a different celebration after winning the Champions Trophy

Ravindra Jadeja was awarded the Player of the Final for his exceptional all-round performance in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013. Shikhar Dhawan, the opening batsman, was named the Player of the Series for his impressive tally of 363 runs in five innings at an average of 90.75.

Since their triumph in the 2013 Champions Trophy, India’s performances in ICC tournaments have been mixed. In ODIs, they reached the semifinals of the 2015 and 2019 World Cups but couldn’t progress further. In the 2017 Champions Trophy final, they suffered a heavy defeat against Pakistan.

ALSO READ: Nitin Menon Reflects on Umpiring India’s Big Players: Growing Amidst Pressure

In T20Is, India reached the finals of the 2014 World Cup and 2016 World Cup but couldn’t clinch the title on both occasions. They failed to make it to the knockouts in the 2021 World Cup and lost in the semifinals of the 2022 World Cup against England. In Tests, they lost the WTC finals in 2021 and 2023 against New Zealand and Australia, respectively.

Fans on Twitter expressed their emotions as India completed a decade without winning an ICC trophy, sharing their reactions to this unfortunate streak.