PCB reveals 15 names of Foreign Platinum Players category for PSL 2019
By Sandy - Oct 5, 2018 1:29 am
Views 76

On Thursday (October 4), the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the names of 15 Foreign Platinum Players for the Pakistan Super League 2019 (PSL 2019).

PSL trophy

The PSL 2019 has been scheduled to be played between February 14 and March 17, 2019. It will be the fourth edition of the tournament where six teams will participate. The teams are the defending champions Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators.

On Thursday, the PCB announced the 15 Foreign Platinum Players’ names for the fourth PSL. The Platinum Player Category is the highest-paid category where many big international cricketers are on that list. Former South African captain AB de Villiers and presently banned Australian cricketer & former Australian captain Steven Smith seem ready to make their PSL debut in the new season as they are in the Platinum Player Category. However, another suspended Australian cricketer David Warner has turned down the PSL offer.

AB de Villiers and Steve Smith

Here are the full Foreign Platinum Players list: AB de Villiers (South Africa), Steve Smith (Australia), Chris Lynn (Australia), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Colin Munro (New Zealand), Luke Ronchi (New Zealand), Dwayne Bravo (Windies), Sunil Narine (Windies), Kieron Pollard (Windies), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Colin Ingram (South Africa), Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) and Shane Watson (Australia).

PCB chairman Ehsan Mani feels very excited with the big foreign names for the PSL 2019 and also expects more foreign player signings in various categories in the next few days.

Ehsan Mani

Mani said, “This is a very exciting mix of top quality foreign players. In the next few days, PSL will continue to announce more foreign player signings in various categories as the excitement grows around what should be an extremely interesting Player Draft.”

At present, the retention and trade window in running from September 29 and it is expected to be finished in the second week of October. Each team can retain maximum 10 players from their previous edition’s squad. All the released players will enter in the draft.