Predicted XI: SA vs Ind (1st T20I): India Looking To Trust The Young Guns
By CricShots - Feb 17, 2018 2:54 pm
Views 60

An upbeat Team India will be looking to continue their dominance over the South African team in the first Twenty20 International (T20I) match at Johannesburg on Sunday. Virat Kohli and his men would aim to carry the momentum and aggression forward into the shortest format.

India looking to dominate in T20Is as well

Focus, though, will be on Suresh Raina as he will be making a comeback into the national team after a year away. Since the 2017 Champions Trophy, India has played 10 T20Is, winning seven of those matches. Raina, KL Rahul, and Jaydev Unadkat are the new additions to the Indian contingent for hasT20I series. The trio had a two-hour net session at Centurion before the start of the sixth ODI. There is also an optional practice session scheduled on Saturday at the Wanderers.

Also read: Duminy confident for T20I series


Raina’s return is the most intriguing aspect of the T20 series from an Indian point of view. His continued absence from the T20I squad during the 2017-18 home season raised eyebrows but it was revealed that he had missed the now obligatory ‘Yo-Yo’ fitness test and hence missed out on selection.

India’s T20 form is also pretty good

The men in blue have focused on rewarding players for their domestic performances in the limited overs format. Raina and Unadkat have made a comeback in the side owing to their performances in domestic cricket and IPL respectively.

Also read: Preview - SA vs Ind (1st T20I)

India outplayed South Africa in all departments in ODI series and has won the series with a handsome margin of 5-1. The team would look to take the momentum into the T20I series comprising of three matches as it takes on the South African side in the first T20 in Wanderers on the 18th.

Here we are making an attempt at predicting India’s squad for the first T20I in Johannesburg:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan/ KL Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey/ Axar Patel, MS Dhoni(wk), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar/Jaydev Unadkat, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal.