Social Shots
Prime Minister Narendra Modi Receives Special Jersey From Team India
By CricShots - Jul 4, 2024 5:11 pm
Views 38

Prime Minister Narendra Modi hosted the victorious Indian cricket team, including outgoing head coach Rahul Dravid and top BCCI officials such as president Roger Binny and secretary Jay Shah, at his official residence on Thursday. The meeting, held over breakfast, was organized to celebrate their triumph at the 2024 T20 World Cup.

PM Narendra Modi
PM Narendra Modi had a meeting with Team India

During the lively discussion, PM Modi was gifted a special Team India jersey bearing his acronym NaMO and assigned the number 1.

ALSO READ: Team India Meets Prime Minister Narendra Modi After Historic T20 World Cup 2024 Triumph

The Indian cricket team shared their gratitude on Instagram, posting, “The triumphant Indian Cricket Team met with the Honourable Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modiji, at his official residence today upon arrival. Sir, we extend our heartfelt gratitude to you for your inspiring words and the invaluable support you have provided to #TeamIndia.”


Earlier, the Indian team landed in the national capital after a 16-hour non-stop flight from Barbados. The team members, along with the support staff, board officials, and members of the Indian media, were stranded in Barbados due to Hurricane Beryl, which brought normal life to a standstill on the island.

WATCH – Grand Reception for T20 World Cup Champions: Rohit Sharma and Team Celebrate with Special Cake

However, once the weather cleared, the BCCI arranged for a special Air India flight to bring the cricketers home. Upon arrival in Delhi, the team was warmly welcomed and then proceeded to meet the Prime Minister. Following this, they are scheduled to participate in an open-top bus parade and grand celebrations at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The victory celebration is set to be a momentous occasion, with thousands of fans expected to gather to honor the team’s remarkable achievement. This historic win marks India’s second T20 World Cup title, a long-awaited triumph since their first victory in 2007 under the leadership of MS Dhoni.