Quinton de Kock Affected Another Brilliant Stumping On A Wide Ball
By CricShots - Jan 21, 2022 6:21 pm
Views 844

South African wicket-keeper, Quinton de Kock has always been known for his outstanding glovework from behind the stumps and he did a carbon copy dismissal of Rishabh Pant in the first ODI in the 2nd game as well. However, in the 2nd ODI, Venkatesh Iyer was at the receiving end. Iyer was looking settled at the crease and he was looking to rotate the strike with India having lost half their side with nearly ten overs left.

Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock is known for his wicket-keeping abilities

Venkatesh Iyer along with Shardul Thakur was doing well to keep the scoreboard ticking. However, Andile Phehlukwayo was brought into the attack by Temba Bavuma and he managed to get the wicket of Iyer immediately. The credit, however, goes to Quinton de Kock. Phehlukwayo dished out a delivery down the leg side and Iyer attempted to flick.

WATCH – Tabraiz Shamsi Gave An Aggressive Send-off To Rishabh Pant

Iyer failed to make contact with the ball and Quinton de Kock was quick to gather the ball and dislodge the bails. The South African gloveman wasn’t confident of the dismissal earlier and neither did the South African fielders. Replays, however, confirmed that Iyer’s foot was in the air momentarily and de Kock took off the bails at the perfect time to effect the stumping.

Here is the video of the dismissal:

With Iyer’s wicket, India’s middle-order woes continued as they have lost their way since KL Rahul holed out after the drinks break. Rishabh Pant’s aggressive knock of 85 runs was the only thing that kept the Indian team afloat.

WATCH – Keshav Maharaj Misses Run-out Chance As Rahul And Pant Came At The Same End

South Africa Playing XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Janneman Malan, Temba Bavuma (c), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Sisanda Magala, Tabraiz Shamsi

India Playing XI: KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal