Twitter Reaction
Quinton de Kock Didn’t Got The Boundary Despite Ball Crossing The Rope
By CricShots - Oct 9, 2022 5:26 pm
Views 38

India is locking horns, with South Africa in the second ODI of the three-match series at the JSCA Stadium in Ranchi. In limited-overs cricket, a boundary in the early phase of an innings is essential for a batter to get things going and gain confidence. However, Quinton de Kock made an error to get that right by offering no shot to a ball off Mohammed Siraj, and due to that, missed four runs despite the ball crossing the rope.

Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock made a mistake

After suffering a defeat in the first ODI, India is looking forward to bouncing back in the second ODI, taking place in Ranchi. South Africa’s stand-in skipper Keshav Maharaj has opted to bat first after winning the toss and Quinton de Kock has departed after scoring five off eight balls.

Quintin De Kock failed to carry the momentum he gained from the last game, but even in his short stay, he turned a lot of eyeballs. Mohammed Siraj started the proceedings for the hosts and de Kock faced the third delivery of the over. Siraj bowled a short-of-length delivery staying down the leg and the South African thought it would go for wide.

Considering this judgment, Quinton de Kock offered no shot on the ball, only to see it flicking his pads. The ball raced to the boundary behind the wicket and four runs were supposed to be added to the team’s scorecard.

However, as Quinto de Kock hadn’t offered a shot to that ball, the on-field umpire had to signal a dead ball. Had the batter played a shot on the delivery, he might have been awarded four runs. But the schoolboy’s error of not playing the shot resulted in the team getting no runs added to their tally.

Here is how the netizens reacted to the incident:

×