Twitter Reaction
Quinton de Kock Missed An Easy Chance To Stump Out Shreyas Iyer
By CricShots - Jun 9, 2022 8:55 pm
Views 2.1K

Currently, India and South Africa are locking horns with each other in the first game of the five-match ODI series at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. However, in the first innings, Quinton de Kock missed an easy stumping chance against the run of play, it is hard for their fans to swallow.

Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock missed an easy chance

Earlier, after winning the toss, the visiting skipper, Temba Bavuma won the toss and decided to bowl first citing the chances of some dew. India could not have a better possible start to resume international cricket after two busy months of IPL as they raced to 112/1 at the end of 11 overs. Ishan Kishan was at the crease, on 53 off 38 balls, alongside Shreyas Iyer, who was batting at 26 off 13 balls. However, South Africa should have got the breakthrough wicket in the 11th over, on the bowling of Keshav Maharaj.

ALSO READ: Ravi Shastri Feels Sanju Samson Has More Shots For Australian Conditions

The South African slow left-armer, after watching Shreyas coming down the track, delivered a shortish ball. Shreyas tried to play a defensive stroke but ended up missing it completely. But Quinton de Kock, South Africa’s designated wicket-keeper, failed to grab the ball and as a result, Shreyas managed to get back before the wickets got broken.

Though Ishan was dismissed after scoring 76 off 48 balls, Shreyas is still going strong by the time of writing, on plundering 34 off 21 balls.

Here is the video of the incident when Quinton de Kock missed an easy chance:

India (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan

ALSO READ: Rahul Dravid Hints Umran Malik Will Have To Wait For India Debut

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock (wk), Temba Bavuma (c), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Here is how the fans reacted: