IPL 2022
Rajasthan Royals Suffer A In-flight Turbulence En-route Kolkata
By CricShots - May 22, 2022 5:53 pm
Views 175

Rajasthan Royals (RR) reached the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 playoffs at the second place on the points table after the group stages. Now, they will be locking horns with Hardik Pandya-led Gujarat Titans (GT) in the first qualifier at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Tuesday. 

Prasidh Krishna
Rajasthan Royals (RR)

The Royals were powered by a lovely batting performance from Ravichandran Ashwin, who scored a breathtaking 40 to take RR to the top two. With the playoffs scheduled to be held in Kolkata, on 24 May, the Rajasthan Royals squad flew to the ‘City of Joy’.

ALSO READ: Old Tweet Of Virat Kohli Thanking Rohit Sharma Resurfaces On Social Media

However, RR’s welcome was not quite what they hoped for. The Royals’ flight got into severe turbulence while reaching Kolkata, which turned out to be a scary experience for all who were aboard.

Here is the video shared by Rajasthan Royals:

Kolkata has been hit with severe thunderstorms over the weekend that has affected life in the city. Sporting action in the city was affected due to the hideous storm as well with the Asian Football Confederation Cup fixture between ATK Mohun Bagan and Basundhara Kings forced to be halted for an hour due to severe weather.

ALSO READ: Ajinkya Rahane To Miss Competitive Cricket For A Couple of Months

Rajasthan is scheduled to play Gujarat on May 24, and the game could possibly shower hindrances. In case the game gets washed out, Gujarat will be reaching the finals of the IPL 2022, and Rajasthan will be forced to play in the Qualifier 2, against the winner of Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Rajasthan Royals Squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Obed McCoy, Karun Nair, Rassie van der Dussen, Navdeep Saini, KC Cariappa, Daryl Mitchell, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Anunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Dhruv Jurel, Shubham Garhwal, Corbin Bosch, James Neesham