Ravichandran Ashwin ruled out from the Deodhar Trophy
By Sandy - Mar 1, 2018 1:31 pm
Views 65

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is going to miss the upcoming Deodhar Trophy due to a minor issue. Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed the news by quoting that he has a ‘niggling issue’ which needs only a few times to revive.

Ravichandran Ashwin

Earlier, Ravichandran Ashwin was named as India A captain for the upcoming Deodhar trophy which will be run from 14th March to 18th March. But later, BCCI stated that he ruled out from the tournament due to a minor injury.

Also read: Brad Hogg praised the student Kuldeep Yadav

In a statement, BCCI said, “India A captain R Ashwin has been ruled out of the upcoming Prof D B Deodhar Trophy 2017-18 to be held in Dharamsala. Ashwin has a niggling issue and the BCCI Medical Team has advised him a week’s rest.”

Also read: BCCI Gives Green Signal for DRS In IPL 2018

Ankit Bawne is selected as the new captain of the India A team.

Earlier, Ashwin said that he believes in his captaincy ability. Recently he quoted according to the TOI, “I see it as a natural progression for having played cricket for so long at the top level. I have always felt I had it in me (to be captain). WV Raman identified me as a captain when I was 21 years old. I ended up winning a few titles for TN. But for a bowler to become a captain, which is not something natural in the country, this is something fascinating.”

Also, Ashwin has been recently selected as a captain of Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) for the 2018 IPL.

Latest Squads

(Deodhar Trophy)

India A: Ankit Bawne (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Unmukt Chand, Shubman Gill, Ricky Bhui, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wk), Krunal Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Basil Thampi, Kulwant Khejroliya, Amandeep Khare, Rohit Rayudu, Shahbaz Nadeem.

India B: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Manoj Tiwary, Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (wk), Jayant Yadav, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Umesh Yadav, Rajat Patidar, Akshdeep Nath.

(Irani Cup)

Rest of India: Karun Nair (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, R Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Anmolpreet Singh, Siddarth Kaul, Ankit Rajpoot, Navdeep Saini, Atit Sheth.