Ravindra Jadeja To Return For The Test Squad, No Place For Sarfaraz Khan
By CricShots - Oct 31, 2022 7:53 pm
Views 33

India has announced their ODI and Tests squads for the Bangladesh series. Rohit Sharma will be coming back to lead the country in both ODI and Tests, while KL Rahul will be his deputy after being rested for the New Zealand tour. India is set to play a three-match ODI and a couple of Test against Bangladesh in the month of December. The Men in Blue have largely opted for a full-strength squad with Virat Kohli, and Rishabh Pant forming the batting order.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja 

Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, and Dinesh Karthik have been rested from the series. Injured Ravindra Jadeja will be expected to make a comeback to the side after his long spell of a knee injury, while the likes of Rajat Patidar and Yash Dayal have been called up to form a strong bench in the ODI format.

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya To Lead India For The T20s In New Zealand, Umran Malik Called Back

India’s hero in the Australia Test series, Hanuma Vihari has been dropped from the Test side. Chairman of selectors – Chetan Sharma – revealed that Vihari does not fit in India’s combination for the Bangladesh series. Prithvi Shaw and Sarfaraz Khan have been the major absentees in the squad after their stellar domestic season.

Rohit Sharma and Team India

When asked about the same, the chief selector informed me that both players will get their due and that the Indian selectors have been thinking about fitting both players into the team. In other news, Cheteshwar Pujara has maintained his place in the India line-up after his tremendous comeback into the Test side after his form revival in County Cricket, while former India Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane continues to be dropped from the Indian team.

India’s ODI squad – Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ravindra Jadeja (subject to fitness), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Yash Dayal, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant

ALSO READ: Gautam Gambhir Criticizes Dinesh Karthik For His Batting Approach

India’s Test squad – Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur