Ravindra Jadeja’s Possible Return Boosts India’s Prospects For Cape Town Test
By CricShots - Dec 29, 2023 7:04 pm
Views 64

India faced a significant setback in the first Test against South Africa with the absence of key players, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja, in the bowling department. The absence of Jadeja, in particular, was notable, as the all-rounder’s contributions with both bat and ball have been crucial for the Indian team.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja

Jadeja missed the first Test due to a back spasm, raising concerns about India’s balance in the side. However, there is positive news on the horizon, as recent reports suggest that Jadeja might be available for the upcoming second Test in Cape Town.

During the warm-up session before the start of the match, Jadeja did not show any signs of discomfort. He actively participated in short sprints, covering distances of 30 to 40 meters, indicating a positive stride in his recovery. The most reassuring aspect was his involvement in bowling during the lunch break on the third day.

WATCH – Controversial Decision Mars Pat Cummins’ Historic 250th Wicket Of Mohammad Rizwan

Ravindra Jadeja, along with reserve pacer Mukesh Kumar, bowled on a practice track for nearly 20 minutes, closely monitored by the team’s strength and conditioning coach, Rajnikant.


The potential return of Jadeja is seen as a significant boost for India, considering his all-around capabilities and his status as the top-ranked all-rounder. India aims to level the series 1-1 in the second Test against South Africa, and Jadeja’s return could play a crucial role in achieving that goal.

ALSO READ: Sanjay Manjrekar Demands Patience With Prasidh Krishna In Tests

In another development, Avesh Khan has been included in the squad as a replacement for the injured Mohammed Shami. The inclusion of Avesh Khan provides additional options for the Indian team in the pace bowling department, reinforcing their resources for the upcoming Test.

India’s squad for 2nd Test: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna, KS Bharat (wk), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Avesh Khan