IPL 2022
RCB Retains Glenn Maxwell, CSK Retains Moeen Ali, RR Continues With Samson
By CricShots - Nov 30, 2021 8:50 am
Views 713

Some of the stalwarts of the game like MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, and Glenn Maxwell are among some of the big names, who have been retained by their existing franchises ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 auction.

glenn maxwell
Glenn Maxwell and Virat Kohli

According to teh reports of ESPNCricnfo, the following is a list of names that has been retained by the franchises as of Monday evening. The order of retention might be slightly different from the original retention list.

  • Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson
  • Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell
  • Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje
  • Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson

ALSO READ: PBKS & SRH Complain Against Lucknow Franchise To BCCI ‘poaching’ KL Rahul & Rashid Khan

Several franchises have the margin till 12pm IST on Tuesday, to finalize their retention list. With the IPL 2022 becoming the 10-team league, the purse of every franchise has been increasing to INR 90 crore while setting various retention slabs. The existing franchises can retain a total of four players (max. two overseas) while the two new unnamed franchises – to be based in Lucknow and Ahmedabad – can buy upto three cricketers each from the pool after the original eight teams have finalized their retentions.

Retention Slabs Before IPL 2022 Auction
Four PlayersDeductionThree Players Deduction
Player 116 CroresPlayer 115 Crores
Player 212 CroresPlayer 211 Crores
Player 38 CroresPlayer 37 Crores
Player 46 Crores
Total42 CroresTotal33 Crores
Two PlayersDeductionOne PlayerDeduction
Player 114 CroresPlayer 114 Crores
Player 210 Crores
Total24 CroresTotal14 Crores

In case a franchise decides to retain four players, they will be witness a deduction of INR 42 crore from their purse. Similarly, if a franchise retains three players then INR 33 crores will be deducted, while two retentions will result in a deduction of INR 24 crore,r and in case of one retention, a franchise will witness the deduction of INR 14 crores from the purse.

gaikwad dhoni
Ruturaj Gaikwad and MS Dhoni

Earlier this month, MS Dhoni gave a hint about him being retained by CSK. Having won the title this year, the franchise has also retained its best performer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, who had amassed 635 runs. And while Faf du Plessis might also have been considered as an option to retain, the management preferred the all-around talents of Moeen Ali.

Much as he had said while giving up the captaincy, Virat Kohli has been retained by the RCB. He has represented them since the commencement of the tournament in 2008 and was one of only two players the franchise chose to hold of, along with Maxwell.

ALSO READ: Fans react as the first Test between INDvNZ ended in a draw

Rookie sensation Venkatesh Iyer will be continuing with KKR. As a hard-hitting batter, Iyer is also capable of bowling in the death overs, he was expected to fetch a huge price in the auction but it turns out he didn’t even need the auction for that.