RCB sign uncapped Afghanistan spinner Izharulhaq Naveed as net bowler
By SMCS - Mar 22, 2022 5:16 pm
Views 43.6K

As per the latest news, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have roped in uncapped Afghanistan leg-spinner Izharulhaq Naveed as one of their net bowlers for the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Izharulhaq has also confirmed this by sharing a picture with the RCB jersey on Instagram. However, the 18-year-old was a part of Afghanistan’s squad in the Under-19 World Cup earlier this year as well.

Izharulhaq Naveed
Izharulhaq Naveed

The youngster was pretty impressive in the competition, having claimed four wickets in six games at an economy rate of 3.63. He has now a great chance to leave a mark against RCB batters in the nets as well. It will also be a great learning curve for Izharulhaq as he will get the chance to bowl the batters like Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis and Glenn Maxwell. Meanwhile, a great show on the net can help him get an IPL contract in the coming years as well.

READ HERE: Gary Kirsten all set to work with Hardik Pandya

So far, Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman have already left their marks in IPL for their respective franchises. However, this time, RCB will play under new skipper Faf du Plessis. The veteran has played a key role for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) throughout the years. And, now he is expected to do the same for RCB as well. This time RCB will get the service of Dinesh Karthik, Josh Hazlewood and Wanindu Hasaranga in their team as well.

rcb pbks
RCB bowlers dominate in the game against PBKS

On the other hand, IPL 2022 will be a 10-team tournament with two new teams – Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans along with the existing eight teams as well. The tournament will begin on March 26 with Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders taking on each other in the opening fixture.

READ HERE: India will struggle if Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma don’t score, says Mohammad Hafeez


Retained players: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj.

Players bought at Auction: Faf du Plessis, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Anuj Rawat, Shahbaz Ahamad, Akash Deep, Josh Hazlewood, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Behrendorff, Suyash Prabhudessai, Chama Milind, Aneeshwar Gautam, Karn Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Luvnith Sisodia, David Willey