Reetinder Sodhi opines on Rohit Sharma’s absence from NZ series
By SMCS - Nov 17, 2022 1:26 pm
Views 26

Former India player Reetinder Singh Sodhi has slammed Indian captain Rohit Sharma for resting himself for the upcoming series against New Zealand. Sodhi is not happy with the idea where senior players getting rest in almost every alternate limited-overs series, which has become a new norm in Indian cricket now as well.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma has failed to do much in the T20 World Cup 2022

Speaking to India News, Sodhi said: “Rohit says that he wants to take rest. Who will say to him that we won’t give you rest? I have never read such statements in the newspaper. We have to be now very blatant about things. No individual is bigger than cricket. Keep cricket ahead of anyone like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma or Rahul Dravid. If you are asking for rest, it has to have substance. You have niggle or play so much cricket, score a lot. After T20 World Cup, rest is unexpected. Somebody has to come out and say, ‘No, you won’t get rest.’”

READ MORE: Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s wife slams trolls through her Instagram post

Notably, seven Indian players have been rested or dropped after the T20 World Cup – Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami and Dinesh Karthik. Meanwhile, former India selector Saba Karim thinks the selectors should declare whether they want to keep Rohit Sharma as captain only till the 2023 World Cup or beyond. He feels Hardik Pandya should take on the baton in white ball cricket after the 2023 ODI World Cup, especially in T20I cricket.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami

Speaking on the same show as Sodhi, Karim said: “You have to think about the future. Decide whether you want to keep Rohit Sharma until the 2023 ODI World Cup and then make Hardik Pandya our T20 captain. So, you can change and give the white ball captaincy to Hardik Pandya. You have to think like this for the future.”

READ MORE: Suryakumar reveals the reasons behind Rohit Sharma’s weird gesture for Dinesh Karthik

India’s squad for New Zealand T20Is: Hardik Pandya (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (VC and WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik