IPL 2024
Ricky Ponting Got Confused Over The Impact Player Rule Against RR
By CricShots - Mar 28, 2024 11:21 pm
Views 13

Cricket aficionados witnessed an unexpected spectacle in 2024 as Delhi Capitals’ head coach, Ricky Ponting, found himself embroiled in a heated exchange with the fourth official during a match against Rajasthan Royals. The incident caused a temporary halt in play due to a misunderstanding that left Ponting visibly irked.

Ricky Ponting
Ricky Ponting had a confusion over the impact player rule

After Rajasthan Royals posted a challenging target of 186 runs in Jaipur, thanks to an impressive unbeaten knock of 84 runs by Riyan Parag, Delhi Capitals commenced their chase with David Warner and Mitchell Marsh opening the innings.

WATCH – Riyan Parag’s Blitzkrieg: Smashes Anrich Nortje For 25 Runs In Final Over

However, just two deliveries into the chase, play was interrupted as Ponting protested, alleging a breach of regulations by the Royals. The controversy arose when the Royals introduced Proteas pacer Nandre Burger as an Impact Player in place of Shimron Hetmyer during the innings break.

Ricky Ponting objected to Rovman Powell’s substitution as a fielder, arguing that it would exceed the permissible limit of four overseas players in the playing XI. A heated debate ensued, involving Warner, Buttler, and umpire Nitin Menon, while Ponting vehemently voiced his concerns.

WATCH – Delhi Capitals Celebrate Rishabh Pant’s 100th IPL Game With Special Gesture

Although Powell eventually took the field, Ponting remained visibly agitated in the dugout. However, the intervention of the fourth official, who clarified that the Royals had replaced one foreign player with another, alleviated the confusion. The incident showcased the intensity and passion prevalent in cricket, even among seasoned coaches like Ponting, highlighting the sport’s capacity for unexpected drama.

Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Riyan Parag, Shimron Hetmyer, Dhruv Jurel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sandeep Sharma, Avesh Khan

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Ricky Bhui, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Sumit Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar