IPL 2024
Rishabh Pant Falls To Yuzvendra Chahal’s Spin
By CricShots - May 7, 2024 10:07 pm
Views 13

In the ongoing IPL 2024 clash between Delhi Capitals and Rajasthan Royals, skipper Rishabh Pant faced a disappointing outing, succumbing to Yuzvendra Chahal’s spin for just 15 runs. Batting at number five, Pant’s innings came to an abrupt halt when Chahal claimed his 350th T20 victim.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant feel prey to Yuzvendra Chahal

The dismissal unfolded during the 14th over of the Capitals’ innings, following Abhishek Porel’s departure, leaving the team reeling. Chahal, after conceding three singles, enticed Pant with a well-tossed delivery, tempting him to slog over square leg. Unfortunately, Pant mistimed his shot, sending the ball straight into the hands of Trent Boult at the fine leg boundary.

Pant’s departure marked a pivotal moment in the game, with DC’s debutant Gulbadin Naib joining Tristan Stubbs in the middle. Earlier, the Capitals had enjoyed a promising start, fueled by Jake Fraser-McGurk’s explosive batting against the RR bowlers.

WATCH – Unlucky Shai Hope Run-Out: Sandeep Sharma’s Sharp Reflexes Turn The Tide

Despite Fraser-McGurk’s impressive fifty, R Ashwin managed to claim his wicket, offering a glimmer of hope for the Royals. However, Abhishek Porel’s resilient knock of 65 runs off 36 balls bolstered DC’s innings, steering them to a competitive total. At the time of writing, the Capitals stood at 164 for five in 14 overs, with Stubbs and Naib at the crease.


In the pre-match interviews, Sanju Samson expressed his team’s preference to chase, emphasizing the balanced environment within the squad. Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant acknowledged the batting-friendly pitches but remained focused on delivering their best performance despite injuries and health issues within the team.

WATCH – Jake Fraser-McGurk’s Spectacular 28-Run Blitz Against Avesh Khan

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Gulbadin Naib, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Donovan Ferreira, Rovman Powell, Shubham Dubey, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal