IPL 2024
Rishabh Pant Umpire Disagreement Sparks Controversy in DC vs LSG Clash
By CricShots - Apr 12, 2024 8:46 pm
Views 22

In the ongoing match between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, A fiery exchange between DC captain Rishabh Pant and the on-field umpire grabbed everyone’s attention. The heated moment arose during the fourth over of LSG’s innings when a wide delivery from Ishant Sharma prompted the umpire to signal for a review.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant had a an intense conversation with the umpire

Despite the initial decision staying as the ball was clearly wide, Pant expressed his discontent with the umpire’s decision. The disagreement stemmed from a misunderstanding as Pant, although not directly looking at the umpire, appeared to signal for a review.

WATCH – Virat Kohli Recalls Unforgettable Encounter With Mitchell Johnson In 2014

The subsequent replays clarified the situation, showing Pant making the T sign while communicating with a teammate. Earlier in the game, LSG captain KL Rahul won the toss and elected to bat first, aiming to extend their streak of successfully defending totals in previous matches.

However, DC quickly struck back with the ball, with Khaleel Ahmed claiming the wickets of Quinton de Kock and Devdutt Padikkal within the powerplay. As of the latest update, LSG found themselves at 66 for 4 in the 8th over.

WATCH – Ajinkya Rahane Reflects on Home Vibes and MS Dhoni’s Guidance

The incident reflects the intensity and passion often witnessed in high-stakes cricket matches, with players and officials striving for clarity and precision in decision-making. Despite the disagreement, both teams remain focused on the game, aiming to capitalize on every opportunity to secure a victory in the IPL 2024 encounter.

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul (c & wk), Devdutt Padikkal, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur, Arshad Khan

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Tristan Stubbs, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed