T20 World Cup 2024
Rishabh Pant’s Lightning Stumping Of Moeen Ali Turns the Tide
By CricShots - Jun 28, 2024 1:50 am
Views 39

In a pivotal T20 World Cup 2024 semifinal clash at Guyana’s Providence Stadium on June 27, Rishabh Pant showcased his lightning reflexes behind the stumps, playing a decisive role for India. His swift stumping of Moeen Ali off Axar Patel’s bowling proved crucial in stemming England’s chase.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant pulled off a brilliant stumping

The match began with England opting to field after winning the toss, challenging India to set a competitive target. The Men in Blue responded admirably, posting 171/7 in their allotted 20 overs. Skipper Rohit Sharma led from the front with a brisk 57, well-supported by Suryakumar Yadav’s valuable 47.

WATCH – Jasprit Bumrah’s Masterstroke: Dismisses Phil Salt with a Smart Delivery

As England started their chase, Indian bowlers, particularly Axar Patel, applied relentless pressure. Patel had already dismissed the key batsmen Jos Buttler and Jonny Bairstow when Moeen Ali arrived at the crease, aiming to stabilize the innings.

The pivotal moment arrived in the 8th over. Patel, bowling with precision, delivered a ball into Ali’s legs. The ball brushed the batsman’s thigh pad, misleading him into thinking it had travelled further. Ali, off balance, ventured out of his crease, providing Rishabh Pant the opportunity.

WATCH – Adil Rashid Outplays Rohit Sharma In T20 World Cup 2024 Semi-Final

Rishabh Pant, displaying remarkable reflexes, gathered the ball swiftly and dislodged the bails in a fraction of a second. Despite Ali’s belated attempt to regain ground, Pant’s quick execution ensured he was sent back to the pavilion.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)


India’s bowlers have already dismissed six English batsmen and are poised to dismantle the lower order, aiming to secure an unbeaten passage into the T20 World Cup 2024 final.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

England (Playing XI): Philip Salt, Jos Buttler(w/c), Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley