Rohit Sharma Elected To Lead ICC’s Team Of The Tournament For CWC 2023
By CricShots - Nov 20, 2023 3:03 pm
Views 153

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the Team of the Tournament for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, and India is the dominant force with six players making it into the XI. Captain Rohit Sharma leads the charge, accompanied by fellow batting superstars Quinton de Kock, Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, KL Rahul, and all-rounder Glenn Maxwell.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Sharma, named in the Team of the Tournament for the second consecutive ODI World Cup, set the tone for India at the top of the order. The retiring de Kock, who signed off in style with a series of impressive performances, partners him at the top.

Kohli, who topped the run-scoring charts just as he did in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 12 months ago, completes the top order. He hit a staggering 765 runs at an average of 95.62, shattering the previous record held by Sachin Tendulkar.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Blames Pitch, Tactics For India’s World Cup Final Loss

Batting at No.4 is Mitchell, who hit two centuries against India in his first maiden 50-over World Cup. India’s Rahul is at No.5 after chipping in with several key knocks throughout the tournament. At No.6 is all-rounder Maxwell, who hit the winning runs in the final as Australia lifted their sixth crown. India’s Jadeja takes the second all-rounder spot after impressing with the ball.


Jasprit Bumrah is included for the second World Cup running after taking 20 wickets, two more than his tally in 2019. At No.9 is budding Sri Lankan superstar Madushanka, who announced himself on the world stage with figures of five for 80 against India.

ALSO READ: Mohammed Shami’s Mother Hospitalized During ICC World Cup 2023 Final

Zampa is at No.10 after taking 23 wickets and bamboozling the world’s best batters throughout the tournament. Completing the line-up is Shami, who recorded the best figures of any bowler in a World Cup knockout game after his seven-for in the semi-final success over New Zealand. And the 12th man is Gerald Coetzee, who was among the wickets in every match he played on his ICC tournament debut.

The selection panel consisted of Ian Bishop, Kass Naidoo, Shane Watson (Commentators), Wasim Khan (ICC General Manager, Cricket), and Sunil Vaidya (Journalist, Ahmedabad Mirror).