IPL 2021
Rohit Sharma Praises Lasith Malinga As His Announces Retirement
By CricShots - Sep 15, 2021 11:38 am
Views 140

Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper, Rohit Sharma paid tribute to Sri Lankan fast bowling legend, Lasith Malinga, who was the Indian batsman’s long-time teammate in the Indin Premier League (IPL) franchise. after the latter announced his retirement from all forms of cricket. Malinga played with the Mumbai Indians for lose to 10 years and played a crucial role in their five title-winning campaigns, all of which came under the Rohit’s captaincy.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma and Lasith Malinga

Replying to the tweet in which Malinga announced his retirement, Rohit Sharma wrote: “Mali, you have been a champion cricketer. Well done on your wonderful career. Best wishes ahead.”

Lasith Malinga, who has always been known for his toe-crushing yorkers and deceptive slower ones, holds some unique records for Sri Lanka. He has taken five hat tricks in international cricket. He has also taken 4 wickets off 4 consecutive balls twice in international cricket.

ALSO READ: IPL Franchises To Arrange Charter Flights For CPL And Sri Lanka-South Africa Series Players

The veteran fast bowler, who took a total of 546 wickets across all formats for Sri Lanka, had already retired from Test cricket in 2011, and in 2019, he announced retirement from ODIs but continued to play T20Is for the national side. Lasith Malinga remains the highest wicket-taker (170) in the history of IPL. Amit Mishra, the second-highest wicket-taker, at 166 wickets, is still 4 wickets behind him. 

Announcing his retirement, Lasith Malinga wrote: “Today is a very special day for me because I want to thank each and everyone who has supported me and blessed me throughout my T20 career. Today I decided, I want to give 100 percent rest for my T20 bowling shoes.”

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Names His Semifinalist For T20 WC

He further added, “I want to thank the Sri Lanka cricket board and my team members. I want to thank the Mumbai Indians cricket team and team members, especially the owners and the officials, Melbourne Stars, Kent Cricket Club, Rangpur Riders, Guyana Warriors, Maratha Arabians, and Montreal Tigers.”