IPL 2022
Rohit Sharma Reveals The Reason Behind MI Dropping Kieron Pollard
By CricShots - May 13, 2022 11:59 am
Views 807

It was the El Classico of the Indian Premier League (IPL) when Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) locked horns with each other at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Rohit Sharma and his men got eliminated of the playoffs qualification race, but they managed to pull off a win in front of the home crowd. CSK had to register a win to keep their chances alive as they are not completely out of the race, but they failed to do so.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has won the toss and opted to bowl against the defending champions. MI made a couple of changes to the side; Kieron Pollard has been dropped from the playing XI as he made way for debutant Tristan Stubbs. The youngster from South Africa was inducted into the squad in place of injured Tymal Mills.

ALSO READ: Pat Cummins ruled out of the tournament with a a hip injury

Explaining the changes during the toss, Rohit Sharma said, “Keeping an eye on the future, Pollard is out and Stubbs is in. Shokeen comes in for Ashwin. He (Pollard) was the one who came up to us and he was ready for it. We want to try out a few players, got to see what they have to offer. Looks like a good track, hope it plays well throughout the 40 overs. It’s brilliant to play against Chennai, it’s always like that. We need to try and win the game.”

kieron pollard
Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard

It was a low-scoring encounter between MI and CSK at Wankhede on Thursday. MI won the toss and chose to field first and the decision by Rohit Sharma worked for the team CSK was struggling at 17/4. MS Dhoni remained unbeaten and scored 36 runs however he ran out of partners as the Men in Yellow were bowled out for just 97 runs. 

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma feels Tilak Varma Will Play All The Formats For India In Future

During MI’s chase, CSK pacers Simarjeet Singh and Mukesh Choudhary scalped four wickets in the powerplay, but Tilka Varma stayed unbeaten on 34 off 32 balls and along with Hrithik Shokeen and Tim David (16* off 7) steered the team to victory.