Rohit Sharma Starts Practicing In Nets Ahead Of T20 Series In England
By CricShots - Jul 4, 2022 6:22 pm
Views 737

After recovering from Covid-19, the Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma, has finally returned to the nets to prepare for the upcoming T20I and ODI series in England. India and England will be locking horns to play three T20Is followed by as many ODIs between July 7 and 17. Rohit had tested positive for Covid-19 following a Rapid Antigen Test (RAT) conducted on June 25.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma underwent isolation but failed to recover in time for the rescheduled fifth Test against England. Although Mayank Agarwal had joined the Indian squad as Rohit’s cover, Cheteshwar Pujara opened the team’s innings along with Shubman Gill. On June 30, the BCCI officially announced that Rohit will be missing the Test and named fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah as stand-in captain.

India posted 416 in their first innings, owing to the brilliant centuries from Rishabh Pant and Ravindra Jadeja, and entertaining record-breaking innings from Bumrah.

WATCH – Harshal Patel Scored A Fifty In The T20 Warm-up Game

India’s stand-in skipper, Jasprit Bumrah then wreaked havoc on the England top-order and took three wickets before Jonny Bairstow made a brilliant fight back. Bairstow’s ton was crucial in helping England to reach a score of 284 runs. India is currently leading by 257 runs. The Bumrah-led team finished Day 3 on 125/3 at stumps.

India squad for 1st T20I: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

WATCH – Rovman Powell Smashed An Unbelievable Six Off The Back-foot

India squad for 2nd and 3rd T20I: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik

India squad for 3 ODIs: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, J Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Shami, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh