Rohit Sharma Walked Back To The Pavilion After Suffering A Strain In The 3rd T20
By CricShots - Aug 2, 2022 11:53 pm
Views 7.2K

The Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma, who started the second over of the run chase with a six and a four separated by a dot ball, was soon seen struggling in the middle as the Indian physio came out to attend to him. A long discussion with the physio ensued as Rohit appeared to visibly struggle and he eventually decided to walk off much to the shock of spectators. The temperature in St Kitts has been hovering near the 35-degree celsius mark with the humidity at 70% and the heat seemed to have taken a toll on Rohit.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma scored a fifty in the 1st T20I

Having said that, there was uncertainty regarding why exactly Rohit Sharma left the field with the commentators also citing that dehydration was a possible cause. There was talk of him possibly that the Indian skipper has suffered a strain in a muscle near the abdominal or back area while he tried to swivel across to play a shot earlier in the same over.

WATCH – Indian Fans Applaud As Hardik Pandya Completes 50 Wickets In T20Is

Shreyas Iyer walked in to join Suryakumar Yadav as India looked to chase down 165 in St Kitts. India is chasing a decent total of 165 runs as the host amassed 154 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in their quota of 20 overs.

However, BCCI has confirmed that Rohit Sharma suffered a back spasm.

With the amount of cricket to be played in the next few months, both Sharma and Indian fans would be hoping for the injury to not be very serious. As far as the chase is concerned, Yadav and Shreyas Iyer have managed to power India to 56/0 in the powerplay to put on display a quickfire start.

West Indies (Playing XI): Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Devon Thomas (wk), Rovman Powell, Dominic Drakes, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy

ALSO READ: Sourav Ganguly To Play The Charity Match Of Legends League Cricket

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh