Rohit Sharma Will Lead India In Tests Against South Africa?
By CricShots - Nov 30, 2023 7:33 pm
Views 64

In a significant decision, Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian team in the upcoming three-match T20I series during the tour of South Africa, while KL Rahul will assume captaincy duties for the ODI leg of the tour. Sharma, who recently led India to the final of the ODI World Cup, has been rested from the ODI side but will continue to captain the Test team.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

With Hardik Pandya ruled out due to injury, the selection committee, headed by Ajit Agarkar, has chosen Sharma to lead India’s T20I challenge in South Africa. As reported earlier by the Indian Express, Virat Kohli has informed the BCCI of his desire to take a break from white-ball cricket. India is scheduled to play three T20Is, three ODIs, and two Test matches during their South African tour.

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya Out Of South Africa Tour, Might Return For Afghanistan Series

“He (Kohli) has informed the BCCI and selectors that he needs a break from white-ball cricket and he will get back to them about when he wants to play white ball cricket next. At the moment he has informed the BCCI that he will be playing red-ball cricket, which means he is available for selection for the two Test matches in South Africa,” a source revealed.



Sanju Samson has been included in the ODI squad, while Rajat Patidar, who has recovered from injury, has also found a place in the team. Suryakumar Yadav, who has been playing non-stop cricket, has been rested from the ODI side.

ALSO READ: Deepak Chahar Eyes Test Cricket Aspirations Alongside T20 World Cup Dreams

Shreyas Iyer makes his way back into the Test team, while Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara have been dropped. The selection committee’s decision to pick Iyer over Rahane in Tests stems from Rahane’s return to the team as a replacement for the injured Iyer. With Iyer back in form, the selection committee and captain Rohit Sharma have decided to reinstate him in the side.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, and R Ashwin have also been named to the Indian Test squad. Kuldeep Yadav has been included in the Indian T20I team.