IPL 2024
Rovman Powell Takes A Stunning Catch To Send Back Faf du Plessis
By CricShots - May 22, 2024 8:31 pm
Views 7

The high-pressure Eliminator between Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore witnessed a sensational catch by West Indies all-rounder Rovman Powell. In the powerplay, Powell displayed exceptional anticipation and athleticism, diving forward to pouch the crucial wicket of RCB captain Faf du Plessis in the deep mid-wicket region.

Rovman Powell
Rovman Powell took an exceptional catch

This dismissal, for just 17 runs, silenced the Bengaluru fans and significantly boosted the morale of the Rajasthan team. Cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar, commentating on the match, was particularly impressed by Powell’s commitment. He acknowledged the split-second decision fielders face – go for the catch and risk conceding a boundary, or play safe and stop the runs.

WATCH – Shah Rukh Khan Apologizes To Akaash Chopra and Suresh Raina During Live Chat

Sunil Gavaskar applauded Powell’s decisiveness in this high-stakes situation. This wicket came at a crucial juncture, just after du Plessis and Virat Kohli had created history by becoming the first RCB pair to surpass the 2000-run partnership mark.

Faf du Plessis, fresh off his Player of the Match performance against CSK, was looking to unsettle the Rajasthan pacer Trent Boult, who had started the innings economically. The decision by Rajasthan captain Sanju Samson to hand Boult the third over within the powerplay proved to be a masterstroke.

ALSO READ: IPL 2024 – Combined XI From The Eliminated Teams

The dismissal of du Plessis, a key batsman for RCB, was a much-needed boost for the Royals, who were desperate to end their winless streak in May. Rajasthan had lost their last four matches and their final league game was washed out, entering the playoffs on a low note.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson

Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal