IPL 2024
Royal Challengers Bangalore Contemplates Name Change Ahead Of IPL 2024?
By CricShots - Mar 15, 2024 3:45 pm
Views 16

As the countdown to the commencement of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season inches closer, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) are hinting at a potential name change. A recent video shared by the franchise on social media suggests that the management is leaning towards removing the word ‘Bangalore’ from the team’s name.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Instead, it is speculated that ‘Bengaluru’ will replace ‘Bangalore’ to align with the city’s revised nomenclature. Despite Bengaluru officially replacing Bangalore in 2014, the Royal Challengers Bangalore retained their original name since the inception of the IPL in 2008.

However, with the impending IPL 2024 season, RCB appears to be finally undergoing the much-anticipated transformation. In their 16-year journey in the IPL, the Royal Challengers have yet to clinch the coveted league title.

ALSO READ: Matthew Wade Targets T20 World Cup Success After First-Class Retirement

While the name change might inject a sense of novelty, its impact on the franchise’s fortunes remains uncertain. Similar transformations, such as the renaming of Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab) and Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils), failed to translate into championship triumphs.


Despite the rebranding efforts, neither Punjab Kings nor Delhi Capitals have tasted IPL glory thus far. Therefore, while a name change may symbolize a fresh start for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, its influence on their performance remains to be seen as they embark on yet another quest for IPL glory in the upcoming season.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Dissects SRH Missteps: Lessons for IPL 2024

RCB’s full squad for IPL 2024:Faf du Plessis (C), Glenn Maxwell, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Suyash Prabhudessai, Will Jacks, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Manoj Bhandage, Mayank Dagar, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj, Reece Topley, Himanshu Sharma, Rajan Kumar, Cameron Green, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Tom Curran, Lockie Ferguson, Swapnil Singh, Saurav Chauhan.