IPL 2023
Ruturaj Gaikwad Makes Bowler Pay After A Lifeline On A No-ball
By CricShots - May 23, 2023 8:14 pm
Views 24

In the crucial Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 match, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is facing the defending champions Gujarat Titans (GT) in Qualifier 1 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad got a lucky reprieve and made full use of it, smashing a six on the free-hit delivery. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Darshan Nalkande gave a lifeline to Ruturaj Gaikwad

Earlier in the game, GT won the toss and elected to bowl first. However, CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad had a stroke of luck as he was initially dismissed but was given a reprieve due to a no-ball bowled by young Vidarbha pacer Darshan Nalkande. Gaikwad capitalized on this opportunity and unleashed a six and a four on the following delivery. 

Here is teh video of the reprieve:

As mentioned earlier, GT skipper, Hardik Pandya won the toss and chose to bowl first in Chennai. The visitors made one change to their playing XI, replacing Yash Dayal with Nalkande. Meanwhile, CSK retained the same playing XI with no changes.

ALSO READ: Tom Moody Predicts The Impact Of MS Dhoni’s Potential Retirement On CSK

Ahead of the match, Gaikwad expressed his thoughts, stating, “More than runs, it’s the preparation going into a tournament. That was very good, and it was injury-free unlike last time. The nature of T20 is that you can’t be consistent every time. But the idea is to maintain our process and approach. Assessing the pitch and determining our strategy is crucial. This time, my approach has been to play expressive cricket.”

The match between CSK and GT promises to be an exhilarating battle as both teams seek to secure their place in the IPL 2023 final.

ALSO READ: Sunil Gavaskar Points Out The Major Mistakes By DC In IPL 2023

Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Hardik Pandya (c), Dasun Shanaka, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Darshan Nalkande, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana

The mixed fortunes in the middle led the Twitterati to react to the incident.