IPL 2022
Ruturaj Gaikwad Scores A Fifty At A Questionable Strike-rate
By CricShots - May 15, 2022 6:52 pm
Views 161

The defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is be locking horns with the new entrants Gujarat Titans (GT) in the 62nd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. CSK opener, Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 53 off 49 balls, with four fours and one six, before he was undone by Rashid Khan in the 16th over.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad played a slow knock

CSK skipper, MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat first citing the scorching heat in Mumbai. While GT made no changes in their playing XI, Chennai made as many as 4 changes as Robin Uthappa, DJ Bravo, Maheesh Theekshana, and Ambati Rayudu are sitting this game out. N Jagadeesan, Prasant Solanki, Mitchell Santner, and Matheesha Pathirana are featured in the playing XI.

WATCH – Moeen Ali Smashes Back-to-back Sixes Off Rashid Khan

CSK could only manage to reach the score of 109 in 15 overs, with the loss of a couple of wickets. It was largely due to Ruturaj Gaikwad’s slow knock, who took 44 balls to bring up his 10th IPL half-century. However, just when he tried to shift the gear after reaching his individual feat, he was dismissed by Rashid Khan, the GT vice-captain, who came to bowl the 16th over and got him.

Rashid Khan bowled a flatter delivery to Gaikwad, which the latter played down the wicket, only to find Matthew Wade at deep mid-wicket. With that, his slow 53-run knock, which came at a questionable strike rate of 108.16, ended.

Here is the video of the knock from Ruturaj Gaikwad:

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, N Jagadeesan, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Mitchell Santner, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Matheesha Pathirana, Mukesh Choudhary

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma wins heart with his kind gestures with Dewald Brevis

Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Hardik Pandya (c), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Shami

Here is how the fans reacted to the knock from Ruturaj Gaikwad