Sachin Tendulkar Will Be Leading India Legends In In Season 2 Of Road Safety World Series
By CricShots - Sep 1, 2022 5:36 pm
Views 30.7K

Legendary Indian cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar will be leading defending champions India Legends in the second edition of the Road Safety World Series, scheduled to be played between September 10 and October 1. The competition is to be held in Kanpur, Raipur, Indore, and Dehradun with Raipur hosting the knockout games and final.

Sachin Tendulkar
Sachin Tendulkar

Apart from India, Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh, and England, who previously took part in the inaugural edition of the tournament, New Zealand Legends will be the new addition to the competition during the 22- day event.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra lauds Suryakumar Yadav’s knock vs Hong Kong

Road Safety World Series is supported by India’s Ministry of Road Transport and Highways and the Ministry of Information & Technology and Youth Affairs & Sports Government of India. The tournament will be aiming to drive social change in India and change people’s outlook on road safety.

india legends
India Legends

As cricket is the most followed sport in India and cricketers have often been termed idols by many, the organizers believe this will work as an ideal platform to influence and change people’s mindset towards their behavior on the roads.

ALSO READ: James Anderson shares muted list on his Twitter

In a statement to media, Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Nitin Gadkari said, “The Road Safety World Series is a very good initiative to create awareness towards road safety through cricket. We want every individual in this country to be aware and obey every rules and regulation while on the road and for that to happen, we have to create awareness among the people, I strongly believe that this series will be able to do and achieve the goal of saving lives on Indian roads.”

Here is the list of captains for all the teams

Sachin Tendulkar (India legends), Brian Lara (West Indies legends), Tilakratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka legends), Ross Taylor (New zealand legends), Ian Bell (England legends), Jonty Rhodes (South Africa legends), Shane Watson (Australia legends), Mohammad Rafique (Bangladesh legends).