News
Salman Butt slams Marcus Stoinis for questioning Mohammad Hasnain’s bowling action
By SMCS - Aug 16, 2022 1:23 pm
Views 13

Former Pakistan captain Salman Butt has lashed out at Marcus Stoinis for questioning Pakistan bowler Mohammad Hasnain’s bowling action after being dismissed in a match in The Hundred. Butt has also stated that the Aussie all-rounder’s gesture was ‘below the belt’. However, Stoinis was playing for Southern Brave against Oval Invincibles on Sunday (August 14) at The Oval. He was dismissed for 37 off 27 balls by a short delivery from Hasnain.

Mohammad Hasnain
Mohammad Hasnain for seen bowling in BBL

As he was returning to the dugout, Stoinis made a gesture that suggested the bowler was throwing. Slamming the Australian cricketer, Butt questioned his action as well.

Speaking on his YouTube channel, he commented: “Stoinis’ behavior was below the belt. Mohammad Hasnain has been cleared by the ICC. Coaches worked with him on his bowling action. After that, he gave his test, which went to the concerned authorities. Then, what’s the point of him making such a gesture? Is it necessary to throw a stone to get Stoinis out?”

READ HERE: Gary Kirsten all set to work with Hardik Pandya

However, Mohammad Hasnain was suspended from bowling after being called by umpires during the BBL. During the tournament, another player Moises Henriques had made controversy, commenting ‘nice throw, mate’ after playing and missing. Meanwhile, despite his controversial gesture, Stoinis was not penalized at all. And, according to a report in ESPNcricinfo, the cricketer was spoken to by match referee Dean Cosker but will not be formally charged with a breach of the ECB’s disciplinary code.

Mohammad Hasnain
Mohammad Hasnain

READ HERE: India will struggle if Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma don’t score, says Mohammad Hafeez

“Who are you (referring to Stoinis), unless some umpire takes a decision on him. Hasnain would be under tight scrutiny as he is making a comeback after correcting his action. In such a situation, for a player to come up with such a gesture (is unacceptable). [sic]. And then, he got away with it. He got away with something that others might not have. It is regrettable. Why was he let away? Is it a joke? If yes, then other teams can also do it,” Salman Butt concluded.

×