Sanjay Manjrekar Defends KL Rahul After Back-to-back Failures
By CricShots - Dec 16, 2022 3:22 pm
Views 63

The Indian skipper, KL Rahul had a forgetful outing with the bat against Bangladesh in the ongoing opening Test of the two-match series. After scoring 22 runs in the first innings, KL Rahul got out for 23 runs in the second, while trying to pull a delivery from Khaled Ahmed. India’s stand-in skipper was at the receiving end of the barrage of short deliveries by the Bangladesh pacer, and got Rahul’s wicket, forcing the batter to pick out the deep fielder behind square on the pull shot.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul failed in Chattogram

Former India batter and commentator in Bangladesh for the ongoing series, Sanjay Manjrekar came to Rahul’s defense after his wicket and said that India’s stand-in skipper did not have a weakness against the short ball.

While commentating on the game, Sanjay Manjrekar said, “KL Rahul does not have a weakness against short ball. But he got out trying to attack the short ball today.”

ALSO READ: Salman Butt Criticizes The Agility Of Rishabh Pant, Terms Him Overweight

KL Rahul on the day looked uncomfortable against the balls that were aimed at his body and copped a few blows around his midriff. Sanjay Manjrekar explained that this was due to keeping weight on the front foot instead of shifting it on the back as possible in the crease.

Sanjay Manjrekar
Sanjay Manjrekar

India on the day put together a stand of 70 runs for the first wicket and went on to add to their mammoth 254-run lead in the first innings. At the time of writing, youngster Shubman Gill looked comfortable in the crease, as he got out after scoring scored at 110 off 152. On the other side, Cheteshwar Pujara was batting at 9 off 22 balls.

ALSO READ: Netizens Applaud Kuldeep Yadav For Taking His Third 5-fer

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

India (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (c), Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj