Sanju Samson Delights Fans With Heartwarming Gestures During Ranji Trophy Match
By CricShots - Jan 10, 2024 12:43 pm
Views 18

Sanju Samson, the captain of Kerala’s cricket team, exhibited a heartwarming gesture towards fans during the Ranji Trophy match against Uttar Pradesh at the Sanatana Dharma College Ground in Alappuzha. Engaging with supporters in his hometown, Samson signed autographs and posed for pictures, showcasing appreciation for the love he receives.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson

A viral video captured Samson guiding veteran spinner Kuldeep Yadav to the boundary side, emphasizing camaraderie between players from opposing teams in domestic competitions.

In the match, Uttar Pradesh set the tone by scoring 302 in their first innings, while Kerala managed 243 in their second innings, lasting 74 overs. Uttar Pradesh declared their third innings at 323 runs, with Aryan Juyal and Priyam Garg contributing centuries. The game concluded with Kerala at 72 for two in pursuit of the 383-run target.

WATCH – Rishabh Pant’s Heartfelt Moment: Emotional Reunion At Sister’s Engagement

Uttar Pradesh secured three points with the first-innings lead, while Kerala earned one point. Samson, batting at number 7, scored 35 (46) in Kerala’s first innings before being dismissed by Yash Dayal. Kuldeep played a pivotal role, claiming four wickets across two innings.

Despite being consistently overlooked for India’s white-ball squads, Sanju Samson earned a spot in the upcoming T20I series against Afghanistan. He, along with Jitesh Sharma, was chosen as a wicketkeeper over Ishan Kishan and KL Rahul. Samson’s inclusion followed his match-winning century in the third ODI against South Africa at Boland Park in December. His outstanding knock of 108 off 114 deliveries contributed to India’s convincing 78-run victory, securing a 2-1 series win.

ALSO READ: Anrich Nortje To Miss Entire SA20 Season Due To Persistent Back Issues

Team India squad for Afghanistan series: Rohit Sharma (C), S Gill, Y Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, W Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.