SC doesn’t allow the outstation players in TNPL
By Sandy - Jul 11, 2018 5:22 pm
Views 27
Share Post

The 2018 Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) gets a major setback after Supreme Court has not allowed the outstation players to feature in this tournament.


Recently, TNPL organised an outstation players draft for this season, where a total of 112 players from 13 state associations took the part. It is the first time in TNPL history to use the outstation players in the tournament.

To register for the TNPL outstation players’ draft, the players needed to earn a ‘No Objection Certificate’ (NOC) from their respective state associations. Moreover, they must be uncapped Indian players and hadn’t featured in the IPL 2018.

Also read: R Ashwin To Lead A Team In TNPL 2018

Total 16 players were equally divided into the eight teams as each team got two outstation players and both would be available together for playing XI.

Here are the details of 16 outstation players

Tuti Patriots – Sheldon Jackson (Saurashtra), Salman Nizar (Kerala)

Chepauk Super Gillies – Kedar Devdhar (Baroda), Shaurya Sanandia (Saurashtra)

Kovai Kings – Dharmendra Jadeja (Saurashtra), Shoraab Dhaliwal (Madhya Pradesh)

Madurai Panthers – Amit Verma (Karnataka), Raiphi Vincent Gomez (Kerala)

Trichy Warriors – Himmat Singh (Delhi), Lukman Meriwala (Baroda)

Kanchi Veerans – Swapnil Singh (Baroda), Sandeep Warrier (Kerala)

Dindigul Dragons – Arpit Vasavada (Saurashtra), Hanuma Vihari (Andhra Pradesh)

Karaikudi Kaalai – Atit Sheth (Baroda), Unmukt Chand (Delhi)


But the Chief Justice Dipak Mishra’s leading bench upheld the BCCI’s CoA’s (Committee of Administration) decision which is that the BCCI’s constitution doesn’t permit participation of outstation players in the tournaments hosted by another domestic association.

Also read: Tushar Arothe unsatisfied with handling the rift with the players

The TNPL advocate Ranjit Kumar has submitted that the outstation players should be allowed to participate in the tournament as all of them have the NOC from their respective state cricket associations.

Also read: BCCI has a sigh of relief on SC observation for modification the Lodha Committee recommendations

On the other hand, CoA’s advocate Parag Tripathi objected TNPL by submitting that the BCCI constitution doesn’t allow the participation of the outstation players in this kind of state tournament. He also added that no outstation players are involving in this kind of tournament since 2009.