Shahbaz Ahmed Replaces Ravindra Jadeja In The ODI Squad
By CricShots - Nov 24, 2022 3:55 pm
Views 73

On Wednesday, the BCCI announced Shahbaz Ahmed will be replacing the veteran Indian all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja in their upcoming ODI series in Bangladesh, scheduled to be commencing on December 4 in Dhaka. Jadeja, whose availability was ‘subject to fitness’, missed the major part of the Asia Cup and the entire T20 World Cup 2022 as he suffered a knee injury earlier this year.

Shahbaz Ahmed
Shahbaz Ahmed

Shahbaz Ahmed, who has been in excellent form in the domestic circuit for Bengal, has been included in India’s ODI squad for the Bangladesh tour where they will play three ODIs and a couple of Test matches. Fast bowler Kuldeep Sen has also been named in the squad, replacing Yash Dayal, who was ruled out of the series due to a lower back issue.

ALSO READ: Sri Lanka Cricket Agrees For ICC To Investigate The Match-fixing Allegations

Ravindra Jadeja is yet to recover from the knee injury that he suffered during the Asia Cup 2022. He last played against Hong Kong on August 31 and after the injury, he eventually missed the remainder of the tournament, as well as the subsequent T20 World Cup in Australia. Notably, earlier this month, while announcing the squads in a media release, the BCCI mentioned that Jadeja’s availability is ‘subject to fitness’.

India’s Bangladesh tour will begin with three-match ODI series in the first week of December, and Rohit Sharma will be returning as the captain of the side. They will play in Dhaka (twice) and Chattogram on December 4, 7, and 10 respectively, followed by two Tests, scheduled to be commencing on December 14.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli Sweats It Out Hard In The GYM Ahead Of The Bangladesh Tour

India’s updated squad for the ODIs in Bangladesh: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen.