IPL 2024
Shane Watson Weighs In On Sanju Samson’s Controversial Dismissal
By CricShots - May 8, 2024 2:58 pm
Views 15

The clash between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) at the Arun Jaitley Stadium on Tuesday night stirred controversy with the dismissal of RR skipper Sanju Samson. The catch, taken by Shai Hope at the boundary line, ignited debates over the decision-making and umpiring standards in the ongoing IPL edition.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson had a word with the umpire after the dismissal

In the 56th match of the season, DC hosted the Royals after Samson chose to field first upon winning the toss. DC set a formidable total of 222 runs, propelled by Jake Fraser-McGurk (50 off 20) and Abhishek Porel (65 off 36). In response, Samson’s valiant effort, scoring 86 off 46 balls, came to a contentious end as he was caught by Hope at long-on.

Samson’s dismissal in the 16th over marked a pivotal moment in the match. The catch at the boundary raised questions as it appeared Hope might have touched the rope during the catch. After on-field umpires referred the decision, the third umpire eventually ruled Samson out after reviewing replays.

WATCH – From Adelaide to Florida: Unique Pitch Installation at Nassau Stadium for T20 World Cup 2024

Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson weighed in on the incident, supporting the third umpire’s decision during a discussion on JioCinema.


“It looked like there might have been some disturbance on the rope. The most important angle that the third umpire had looked like the fielder somehow managed to not touch the rope. It was touch and go there, but with twinkling toes on the boundary, Shai Hope pulled off something very special. And you can see one of the owners of DC, Parth Jindal, being very vocal on what he thought was the decision,” Shane Watson stated.

ALSO READ: Match 57 (SRH vs LSG) – Playing XI And Fantasy XI Predictions

Acknowledging the confusion, Shane Watson affirmed the third umpire’s correctness in making the call. “There was a little bit of confusion, but in the end, the third umpire got the decision right, I believe. It was very clear at the end, so there was no indecision about that call,” the former RR player added.

Despite the controversy, DC maintained composure and secured a 20-run victory over the visitors. The win keeps their playoff aspirations alive, while Rajasthan missed an opportunity to secure a playoffs spot.