IPL 2022
Shikhar Dhawan Got Cleaned-up Attempting To Play A Slog-sweep
By CricShots - May 13, 2022 8:45 pm
Views 14.4K

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is locking horns with Punjab Kings (PBKS) in the 60th match of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. RCB wicket-keeper, Dinesh Karthik was constantly repeating that Shikhar Dhawan will play a slog sweep and it eventually brought his wicket.

Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan got cleaned up by Glenn Maxwell

Earlier in the game, RCB skipper, Faf du Plessis won the toss and asked PBKS to bat first and his bowlers didn’t disappoint. As far as the changes are concerned, RCB made no change in their playing XI, while PBKS brought in Harpreet Brar to replace Sandeep Sharma.

PBKS openers, Dhawan and Jonny Bairstow gave a fiery start as they had reached 50/0 in just four overs. Bairstow was the aggressor, scoring 34 off 13 balls, while Shikhar Dhawan scored 15 off 11 balls.  The fifth over was bowled by Glenn Maxwell, who opened the innings with the ball.

ALSO READ: Tilak Varma Reveals His Constant Mindset Before Every Game

Shikhar Dhawan welcomed Glenn Maxwell with a six-over long-on. Since then, Dinesh Karthik, the RCB’s keeper, started speaking to Maxwell and the fielders that a slog-sweep would come off Dhawan’s bat immediately. The prediction was almost right, only had Dhawan hit the last ball of that over, off Maxwell. It was short of a length delivery towards the off stump, but Shikhar Dhawan seemed lazy to get a contract and as a result, he lost his wicket. He scored 21 off 15 balls, with two fours and one six.

Here is the video of the dismissal of Shikhar Dhawan:

Royal Challengers Bangalore (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood

ALSO READ: Yuzvendra Chahal Smashed Jos Buttler Hard In A Fun Net Session

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Jonny Bairstow, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Mayank Agarwal (c), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Liam Livingstone, Rishi Dhawan, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar, Arshdeep Singh

Here is how the fans reacted: