Shikhar Dhawan To Lead India In ODIs Against West Indies
By CricShots - Jul 6, 2022 3:51 pm
Views 1.3K

On Wednesday, the Indian selection committe has finalzied the squad for the three-match ODI series against the West Indies to be played at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad from July 22 to July 27. The ODI series will be followed by a three-match T20I series. Shikhar Dhawan will has been appointed as the captain of the ODI series for the West Indies Tour and Ravindra Jadeja will be performing the role of his deputy.

shikhar dhawan
Team India

After speaking to captain Rohit Sharma and other senior players including Virat Kohli, the selectors have decided to rest the multi-format players from the ODI series. Even, the flamboyant all-rounder, Hardik Pandya will be missing the ODI series as well.

With T20 World Cup just three months away, the focus will be more of the T2oI series and that is the reason, the selectors have decided to rest players from the ODI series. But players like Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav and Sanju Samson will be having a great opportunity to prove their worth.

Deepak Hooda
Deepak Hooda scored a brilliant century

Several young crikceters like Deepak Hooda, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan and Prasidh Krishna are part of the ODI squad as well and they will be eyeing to do well.

The Idnian wicket-keeper batter, Rishabh Pant has also been rested for the series and the two wicket-keeping options in the squad are Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson. Before the West Indies Tour, Team India will take on England in a three-match T20I series, followed by a three-match ODI series.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.