Shikhar Dhawan To Lead India’s 20-member Squad For Sri Lanka Tour
By CricShots - Jun 10, 2021 10:56 pm
Views 1.9K

The Indian squad for the Sri Lanka tour of 2021 has been announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday. Shikhar Dhawan has been appointed as the captain of the team for the Sri Lanka tour and bhuvneshwar Kumar will play the role of his deputy. Team India is all set to take on Sri Lanka in three ODIs and as many as T20Is next month.

shikhar dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan missed out on his century

The first ODI of the series will be played on July 13. The BCCI, on Thursday, announced a 20-member limited-overs squad that will take on Sri Lanka on the limited-overs tour. A total of six new players have been added to the squad which is, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Krishnappa Gowtham, Chetan Sakariya, Varun Chakravarthy, and Nitish Rana.

ALSO READ: Yuzvendra Chahal Thanks Friends And Fans After His Parents Recover From Covid-19

BCCI has also selected 5 net bowlers for the tour apart from the 20-member squad which consists of Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simranjeeet Singh.

India’s squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

ALSO READ: Yuvraj Singh Picks His Ideal Opening Pair For WTC Final

The Indian Test squad is currently in England, where they are preparing for the ICC World Test Championship final which will be played against New Zealand scheduled to be commencing on June 18 at the Rose Bowl Stadium in Southampton. After the WTC final, the national contingent will stay back in England to prepare for the five-match Test series which will be commencing from August 05.

Meanwhile, the second-string Indian team will be locking horns on Sri Lanka in a three-match ODI series and a three-match T20I series, which will commence from July 13. All the matches will be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.