Twitter Reaction
Shimron Hetmyer Took A Brilliant Catch To Send Back Rohit Sharma
By CricShots - Jul 29, 2022 10:04 pm
Views 173

There are cricketers and then there are some stalwarts of the game who are known for playing pivotal roles for their respective teams. The Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma is one such personality and his wicket on Friday after he batted brilliantly during his brilliant knock of 44-ball 64, predictably brought a lot of joy in the West Indies camp as Shimron Hetmyer took a brilliant catch.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma scored fifty

On Friday during India’s first of the five-match T20I series against West Indies, Rohit Sharma came back to international cricket. After being asked to bat, the Indian skipper notched his 27th fifty of this format. However, he received little support from his top-order batters which eventually put a lot of pressure on him until he was dismissed after scoring 64 off 44 balls, laced with seven fours and a couple of sixes.

WATCH – Akeal Hossein Sends back Suryakumar Yadav After His Struggling Knock

Although West Indies’ talismanic all-rounder Jason Holder took Rohit’s wicket, the Indian skipper went back to the pavilion largely due to brilliant catch from Shimron Hetmyer near the boundary line. In the 15th over, Rohit picked up a slower length ball that was pitched outside off the stump.

However, he did not get the timing like he would have liked to and Hetmyer, who was well placed at the deep cover, dived forward to grab an excellent sharp catch. India, meanwhile, reached 148/6 in 17.2 overs.

Here is the video of the catch taken by Shimron Hetmyer:

West Indies (Playing XI): Shamarh Brooks, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Nicholas Pooran (c & wk), Kyle Mayers, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Odean Smith, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy

ALSO READ: Renuka Singh Rips Apart Australia In the first Game of Commonwealth Games 2022

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh

Here’s how the internet reacted after Rohit’s wicket: