Shoaib Akhtar Disappointed As Sri Lankan Players Boycott Pakistan Tour
By CricShots - Sep 12, 2019 8:46 pm
Views 85

Former Pakistan pacer, Shoaib Akhtar felt disappointed after some Sri Lanka players’ decision to boycott the Pakistan tour, adding that his national team has “always been a huge support for SL cricket”.

Sri Lankan team

Sri Lanka’s top players, including T20I skipper Lasith Malinga, former skippers Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal, Suranga Lakmal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhananjaya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera and Niroshan Dickwella decided to boycott the tour scheduled to commence on September 27, following a security briefing with the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board.

ALSO READ: MSK Prasad Clears The Rumors Of Retirement Of MS Dhoni

Expressing his disappointment, Akhtar tweeted, “So disappointed with the 10 Sri Lankan players who have pulled out of Pakistan tour. Pakistan has always been a huge support for SL cricket. Recently after (the) deadly Easter Attacks in SL, our under-19 team was sent on tour there, being the first international team to volunteer.”

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli Remembers The Day When MS Dhoni Made Him Run Like A Fitness Test

He further added, “And of course who can forget the 1996 World Cup when Australia & West Indies refused to tour Sri Lanka. Pakistan sent a combined team with India to play a friendly match in Colombo. We expect reciprocation from Sri Lanka. Their board is cooperating, players should also.”

After this, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced a news quad which will be led by Lahiru Thirimanne for the ODIs while Dasun Shanaka will lead the team in the T20I series during the tour. Sri Lanka is scheduled to play three ODIs in Karachi and as many T20Is in Lahore, which are scheduled to commence on September 27.

International cricket was put on hold in Pakistan after a touring Sri Lankan team in March 2009 was attacked by some terrorist on their way to the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on the third morning of the second of the two-match Test series.